Share your favorite ocean quote in honor of World Oceans Day

Sunset over the Pacific 2014, ©KatieWedemeyer

Sunset over the Pacific 2014, ©KatieWedemeyer

The ocean is my favorite place, my happy place – it is home. When I feel homesick, sad or frustrated – looking out at the ocean, smelling the salt water, hearing the sound of waves breaking, even seagulls flying (and pooping everywhere) comforts me. To me, it is home. The ocean not only supports me mentally but it provides so many wonderful services – each organism that lives in the ocean we depend on, as people, as part of the “circle of life” (cue The Circle of Life and/or Colors of the Wind).

I know I’m not alone in this feeling of awe and love for the ocean and its creatures (check out #BlueMind), so in honor of World Oceans Day I’d like to share my favorite quote about the ocean, one that describes my relationship with it – as I first discovered it as a beach baby in Southern California.

“I love you,” I whispered into the ear of the ocean.
“Every since I’ve known you,
I’ve loved you. I must see all your marvels, know all your beauty…
And the ocean listened and snuggled closer to me.

-Hans Hass Diving to Adventure

What quote best describes your relationship with the ocean? Please share!  If I get enough, I’ll compile them 🙂

To this day, I cannot visit a beach and not, at least, touch the water. Even if it is freezing cold, it draws me in and I cannot resist.

Me, exploring the beach in Santa Barbara, CA circa 1988ish.  ©KatieWedemeyer

Me, exploring the beach in Santa Barbara, CA circa 1988ish. ©KatieWedemeyer

Me, at the end of a long, wonderful day at the beach in Carpinteria, CA. circa 1995ish. ©KatieWedemeyer

Me, at the end of a long, wonderful day at the beach in Carpinteria, CA. circa 1995ish. ©KatieWedemeyer

Me enjoying the beach in Melbourne Beach, FL circa 2013. ©KatieWedemeyer

Me enjoying the beach in Melbourne Beach, FL circa 2013. ©KatieWedemeyer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy World Oceans Day 2014!

Leave a Reply

